The Lessons We Learn and Other Pleasures

Greetings All:

Please excuse my absence.  I have been busy with travel and work (travel and work).  I am  pursuing additional study in order to provide additional services to my clients.  More on that another time.

A dear friend of mine has learned she has stage 3 breast cancer, and as can be expected, she is dealing with it the way most do – with anger and fear and uncertainty and determination and strength.  She is brave and strong, and sometimes she allows herself to scream and cry.   I think it is in that allowing that she really finds her strength.  If we stuff our fear and anger, it festers and grows into physical manifestations of fear and anger, like a cancer.  Think the metaphor is coincidental?  Not!

My dear friend has an amazing group of friends all around the world, many of whom have dealt with what she is going through and can offer a wealth of advise from their own experience.  The common thread I read in the many e-mails being sent back and forth and all around is that it isn’t what happens to us that matters but how we deal with what happens that counts.  It isn’t the stuff that we deal with but how we come out of it on the other side of having dealt with the stuff.  It isn’t in wondering, “Why me” that we find answers.  It is in the dealing with, the moving through and forward, and in the growing as humans and souls from our experiences.

I am grateful for all the lessons I have learned.  Many have been difficult and painful.  I am still working through some of them, finding the lessons.  It is in looking back and seeing how I grew and in seeing the lives I was able to touch in a positive way that I am most grateful.  I am blessed to be here, now.  There were days when I wasn’t sure I’d make it – when I wasn’t sure I wanted to or even could.  I’m glad I stuck around.  It allowed me to know you.

Blessings to all,

Karl
 comments@talktokarl.com

One thought on “The Lessons We Learn and Other Pleasures

  1. Karl,

    As I said I have been reading your blog. However this is my first comment. I find them all interesting, but this one has really hit home for me. I have a very deep appreciation for your friends battle and her willpower to beat the cancer. I wholeheartedly agree it is how we react to
    a life changing circumstance that helps us become better, stronger people. I have a story that
    I must share with you some time that has been an awakening for me personally and all the while made me stronger, better, and more prepared to serve others. Thanks for taking this opportunity to bring out a subject that so many would choose not to. Your a good man Karl.

    Bob Stafford

Leave a Reply

