A Midlife Crisis or Coming Full Circle – The Latest News

Greetings:

This could be a long story, so I won’t give you all the details. Suffice to say that I have completed a journey that in some ways began more than 35 years ago. I find myself ready to embark on a new chapter in which I will be doing something that has followed me and tugged at me and called me for all these years. It is something I feel I am here to do. Even though I became interested in it in high school and wanted to head in its direction, many things, people, and decisions took me to different places and along different paths.

I have no regrets, as those who know me will understand. Even though my life has not always been easy or joyful, and even though it has taken more than 35 years to get here, I have learned from all of my experiences, and I am happy with the way I turned out. I think I’m a pretty good guy. I am, after all, “The boy who grew up to RULE® the world.”

Perhaps this new chapter is also the culmination of my having been “tapped” on the shoulder sometime in the mid 90’s when I was a CEO. A document crossed my desk, anonymously, and it read,

“For every man there comes that special moment when he is physically tapped on the shoulder and offered the chance to do a very special thing – unique to him and fitted to his talents.

What a tragedy if that moment finds him unprepared or unqualified for the work which would be his finest hour.”

It came at a very difficult time in my life, but I knew it was right. I knew that the time had come. I believe that this next chapter of my life is that “special thing.” At about the same time I was “tapped” by that document, someone told me that it seemed amazing to see people walk into my office who were angry or sad, but they would always walk out with smiles on their faces and their heads held high. That remains one of the most meaningful comments anyone has ever told me, and it has helped carry me through some of the rougher patches of my life and has given me direction.

So what is all this about? I am now a Licensed Certified Hypnotist by the State of Indiana, which has the strictest requirements for that profession in the country. I now get to use my skills to help people live more joyful, successful lives. I am so excited! As you may remember, one of the adages of RULE® is “Love yourself and others and everything you do.” Well, I love it! So it is not a midlife crisis. I have come full circle.

I will be sharing more with you about opening my practice, lessons learned, and helpful ideas that you can apply or share with others who may benefit. As always, I welcome your comments and suggestions. We are all in this together. Thank you for your support and kindnesses throughout this journey.

All the best, always!

Karl

comments@talktokarl.com

One thought on “A Midlife Crisis or Coming Full Circle – The Latest News

  1. Karl,

    As I said I have been reading your blog. However this is my first comment. I find them all interesting, but this one has really hit home for me. I have a very deep appreciation for your friends battle and her willpower to beat the cancer. I wholeheartedly agree it is how we react to
    a life changing circumstance that helps us become better, stronger people. I have a story that
    I must share with you some time that has been an awakening for me personally and all the while made me stronger, better, and more prepared to serve others. Thanks for taking this opportunity to bring out a subject that so many would choose not to. Your a good man Karl.

    Bob Stafford

Leave a Reply

