Happy 2009 and other positive beliefs!

Now that we are in the New Year, I thought I would share some observations and remind you that what you imagine, dream, and believe – you will achieve.

So, 2008 has ended, and we can all breathe a sigh of relief. It has been a difficult one for many of us, and yet I also find that it has been quite rewarding. If we were paying attention, we learned a great deal about ourselves and the world around us. A presupposition of NLP is that there is no failure, only feedback. No matter how bad things were, if we learned something that will serve us in the coming year, then we can feel good about the past year. For those who weren’t paying attention, follow what I am about to share with you and you just might have a wonderful 2009 anyway.

The news media and others kept bombarding us with negative news and doom and gloom. It got so bad, we believed it and actually made things worse. That is not to say that there weren’t some greedy and dishonest people who did unconscionable things. That is not to say that thousands didn’t lose their jobs. That is not to say that the housing market in many parts of the country didn’t suffer. What I do mean is that perhaps it didn’t have to be so bad. What would have happened if we hadn’t listened to the news and had still gone out and spent money (those of us who could have afforded it) rather than having been so fearful that we didn’t? Would as many companies have suffered so much? As a result, would as many people have lost their jobs? Did our belief in the terrible news result in a self-fulfilling prophecy?

We all know that it isn’t what happens to us that makes us successful but how we deal with what happens to us. I choose to believe that the world is full of magic – that most people are honest and compassionate and ultimately will do the right thing. I choose to believe that when things feel really bad, they will get better. I choose to believe that I am responsible for how I feel, for how my day goes, for how I treat others, and for my happiness. I choose to believe that when someone treats me with disrespect, it is about them and not me (because I know that I deserve respect). I choose to believe that 2009 will be a great year because I choose to make 2009 a great year.

Do you have a great day, or do you make it a great day? I suppose great days can just happen, but that is unlikely unless you believe you are going to have a great day, in which case your belief affects your actions, so you are making it a great day whether you know it or not. How do you make it a great day? Ask yourself, “How can I make today a great day?” Then take action on your answer. Begin 2009 by making it a great day, today, and do that every day for the next 27 days. If you forget a day, just pick back up the next day. Before you know it, you’ll be “having” great days, every day.

Make 2009 your best year, ever! Get on with it!

Karl

comments@talktokarl.com

2 thoughts on “Happy 2009 and other positive beliefs!

Leave a Reply

