More Than a Reflection

What do you see when you look in the mirror? What thoughts and feelings come through when you look in the mirror? I know some people who don’t like what they see when they look in the mirror, and though that is sad, it is also quite telling as well as potentially useful, if they allow it to be.

Every day we have many opportunities to not only look in the mirror, but also to be aware of what is reflected back to us in every encounter of the day. Do you realize that every person you meet, every person you see and have a thought or feeling about, no matter how casual and seemingly insignificant, is a reflection of yourself in some way? Think about the last encounter you had with someone. Perhaps it was someone at the store or the cashier or someone you noticed when you stopped for your morning coffee. What did you think or feel? Do you remember what you thought about that person? Were you being judgmental, even?

Chances are, the people who come in to your sphere, no matter how casually they appear, are there because you have attracted them by your thoughts or actions. Have you ever heard the expression that when you point at someone, you have three fingers pointing back at yourself? The basis for this is that what we don’t like in others, we actually have and don’t like about ourselves. We may not even be aware of it, but the next time you notice making a comment about something you don’t like in someone else, think about how it might relate to yourself.

I am reminded of this because, even with all that I have studied and practiced over the years, I am still under development, a work in progress. I find myself wondering what it is that I am meant to learn by things in my life. I know that I am responsible, as you are, for everything that has and will happen in life. I am blessed to have wonderful people in my life who, with their honesty and love, support me in my journey, and I am grateful for the reflection they give me so that I can learn and be even better. When we look in the mirror or otherwise become more aware of what is reflected back to us, we have a precious opportunity to take seriously whatever that message is that we are meant to receive so we can make positive changes and reach our full potential, our destiny. Not every message is negative, by the way. Think about someone you admire and what it is that you admire about them. Yes, the opposite is true as well: What we admire in others, we possess as well. Do you see now how wonderful you are? How cool is that?

One response to “More Than a Reflection

  1. Wonderfully thought provoking and insightful, Karl. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

